IEMA composition workshop 2015

05/2015 IEMA – DE


The IEMA-Ensemble 2014/15 includes 13 musicians, a sound designer and a composer.





Four young composers, selected as follows,

# the IEMA-composer in residence, the German-Russian composer Sergej Maingardt,
# František Chaloupka (CZ), recommended by IEMA,
# Stylianos Dimou recommended by Gaudeamus Muziekweek, who is also one of the 5 candidates for the Gaudeamus Prize 2015, and
# Christiaan Richter, also recommended by Gaudeamus Muziekweek, and who recently did his final exam at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague with a huge work “Infraconscious” for choir, orchestra and organ.

get the opportunity to create new works in 2 steps:


STEP 1 – Try-outs:

The 4 composers will come for 2 days to Frankfurt (22nd + 23rd May 2015), to encounter the Ensemble Members. Every composer gets time for try-outs with the Ensemble, under direction of Lucas Vis and the young conductor Gregor A. Mayrhofer.
Members of Ensemble Modern will coach these rehearsals and will provide instrumental workshops to the composers.

Instrumentation :
Flute (also picc, alto,  bassfl.) / Oboe / 2Clarinets (one also bassclarinet) / Horn / 1 percussion player / 2 piano player /  2 violins / Viola / 2 violoncello


STEP 2 – Composing:

Until midth of July the composers will provide scores and parts of their new pieces. The IEMA-Ensemble starts rehearsing on these pieces in August, all composers will be present.


Main rehearsals will then be organized as well as final concerts with all the 4 new works in the Netherlands and in Germany in September 2015:


WORLD PREMIERES : 10th September 2015
Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Utrecht (NL)


Further concerts tbc :

Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst, Frankfurt (DE)




IEMA musicians :

Yuri Matsuzaki, flute
Ayumi Mita, oboe
Dana Barak, clarinet
Kija Cho, clarniet
György Zsovár, french horn
Mervyn Groot, percussion
Julio Garcia Vico, piano
Haesung Yoon, piano
Junya Makino, violin
Alicja Pilarczyk, violin
Alfonso Noriega Fernández, viola
Milosz Drogowski, violoncello
Ella Rohwer, violoncello

Sound design : Laura Endres

organized in partnership with Gaudeamus - NL